In the wake of the devastating events of September 11, 2001, Spirit of America made Freedom! its theme. Our show took us from the depths of oppression, rage, and rebellion, to the heights of true freedom, the mutual responsibilities it requires, and the joy that results. Spirit of America toured in the Washington DC area, performing at several military bases, leading workshops, and performing in exhibition with DCI. The band also went to Staten Island outside New York City, and gave a tribute performance of Freedom! honoring the ultimate sacrifice of the city’s fire fighters and policemen who gave their lives at the World Trade Center.


Liberty Fanfare – John Williams
World Turned Upside Down and Yankee Doodle – Traditional
Chichester Psalms, First Movement – Leonard Bernstein
Country – Charles Gross
Speak – Michael Hale
God of Our Fathers – Claude T. Smith
Adagio for Strings – Samuel Barber
Freedom! – Michael Hale/Martin Vazquez
America the Beautiful – Samuel Augustus Ward
Music coordinated and arranged by Michael Hale